Tunesday: Railbird’s “Lucky” EP

If you’ve got a passion for hard-hitting percussion and breathy, chilled-out vocals, read on

I came across Railbird by way of effective public relations – in other words, I got a notice that this Brooklyn-based band was releasing their third EP, Lucky, and that it very well may be worth a listen. I get some pretty deplorable media pitches every day (if you follow me on Twitter, you’ve undoubtedly seen some…), but this one was definitely worth my time.

Lucky is the third EP release from Railbird, and includes three songs – two of which were previously unreleased. They recently had a successful KickStarter campaign to create & release a single with accompanying video for one of this EP’s included songs, “Jump Ship.”

The opening title track of the album would really excellent in the morning, especially as the vocals – the lyrics of which are admittedly pretty unclear at times – are like silent, staccato affirmations for your day.

You might like Railbird if you like:

  • Jennifer Charles (vocalist for Elysian Fields, Lovage, and random other things)
  • Bjork
  • Yeah Yeah Yeahs
  • Anjali
  • Portishead
  • Moloko / Roisin Murphy
  • Weird, experimental, art pop

It’s definitely upbeat but not too intrusive – I get easily annoyed by music that tries to shove high tempos and sunshine down my throat. The full track listing is:

  1. Lucky
  2. Jump Ship (feat. Sarah Barthel of Phantgram and Sean Rowe)
  3. Mirrors

Railbird Extras


This is a very cute interview/song selection from Railbird, including an enchanting tidbit about cellophane and toilet seats. They also perform some songs and it’s generally pleasurable.

The Lucky EP is available on Bandcamp for a measly $3, if you want to pick it up and keep supporting independent artists!

Check out other Tunesday discoveries here! 

Probably watching Netflix.